Blog Question #7: Chris Jordon & the Photo-Mosaic

Look up more work by photographer Chris Jordan and choose one that you believe could most strongly move people into action for social change. Briefly describe and analyze the project (make sure to read his captions & statements).

Chris Jordan Photography

Midway: Message from the Gyre

by Chris Jordan

On Midway Atoll, a remote cluster of islands more than 2000 miles from the nearest continent, the detritus of our mass consumption surfaces in an astonishing place: inside the stomachs of thousands of dead baby albatrosses. The nesting chicks are fed lethal quantities of plastic by their parents, who mistake the floating trash for food as they forage over the vast polluted Pacific Ocean.

2 thoughts on “Blog Question #7: Chris Jordon & the Photo-Mosaic

  1. Megan says:

    I actually saw these photographs in person at the San Jose Museum of Art last summer. They have a very still and haunting quality. You wanted to reach out and touch them because they were so crisp, and had perfect exposure and vibrant color. I absolutely loved them and the impact of their message has stuck with me. I think of these birds every time I’m too lazy to recycle the plastic bits off the milk carton or wash out the frozen food containers and want to stick plastic in the trash. They really moved me to be more vigilant about the plastic my family consumes and disposes of. I doubt I will ever forget them.

    His other work, especially the Katrina photographs, also has the same stillness and moodiness. I am very drawn to the poignancy of that..

    If I have to pick one, I like “Return of the Dinosaurs” in the Running the Numbers II collection. The zoom in to the detail of the plastic bags is really neat. I chose this because just yesterday I got a notice in one of my bills that San Jose is outlawing plastic bags come January 1, 2012. The stores will charge you 10 cents for paper bags or you can bring your own. I was truly dreading this until I examined this photo and realized this is only 10 seconds worth of bags. Where are they all going?

  2. Jenny Hansen says:

    I was really impacted by the series “Intolerable Beauty” on the consumerism of America. Seeing so many items all grouped together such as the cell phones and the storage units really put into perspective Americas consumer problem. It is really shocking just how much we use, and how much of it is turning into waste. Even thinking about the cell phones, we are constantly buying the newest cell phone, and getting rid of our old ones as new technology comes out. But hardly any of us stop to think about what is happening to all of our waste.

Leave a comment